Home.

Nigel Ackland, G0IIK, Silent Key.

It is with great sadness that we announce that:
Our good friend Nigel Ackland, G0IIK, has become a Silent Key.
Our deepest sympathy to Nigel's family and friends.

OVERVIEW.

PA3CLQ's Bunnell Double Speed Key on wooden base, click to enlarge picture. A group of Radio Amateurs using Morse code have established several informal radio nets to promote the use of the sideswiper, so called "cootie" key. These devices have a single horizontal lever with contacts on either side. The operator forms dots and dashes by pushing the lever to either side. Code from the sideswipers can vary from 5 to 30 words per minute and are much less tiresome to use as compared to vertical lever hand telegraph keys. Listen to the mentioned nets and you will find a nice sounding Morse code. All sideswiper users are warmly invited to take part in our nets. At other times, sideswiper aficionados can be found on the recommended calling frequencies.

CALLING FREQUENCIES AND NETS.

Calling frequencies:
BAND (m). QRG (kHz)
80 3566
40 7033
30 10121.5
20, 15, 10 xx055
17 18088
Nets:
NET TYPE DAY TIME QRG (kHz) NCS
Intercontinental Sunday 1500 UTC 14055 AA7FV
1600 UTC 18088
USA Thursday
(UTC: Friday)
8 PM EST (1) / Fri, 0100 UTC 7044
[10121.5 (5)]
W1SFR,
WA4FAT,
KA5TJS,
AA7FV
8 PM EDT (2) / Fri, 0000 UTC 10121.5
[7044 (5)]
EU Sunday EU ST period (3): 2000 UTC 3566 PA3BYW
EU DST period (4): 1900 UTC

 


LEGEND:

QRG = frequency (kHz).
NCS = Net Controlling Station.
(1) = US Eastern Standard Time (NOV-MAR).
(2) = US Eastern Daylight Time (MAR-NOV).
(3) = EU Standard Time period (OCT-MAR).
(4) = EU Daylight Saving Time period (MAR-OCT).
(5) = The change in frequency will depend on current band conditions. Watch for ssn-ml messages.

 

Number of unique visitors to this web site.
Since March 2010: 209817 Today (UTC): 93 Online now: 3 Visitors' locations.